

July 15, 2022

The Honorable Debbie Stabenow Chairwoman Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition & Forestry United States Senate

The Honorable John Boozman
Ranking Member
Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition & Forestry
United States Senate

The Honorable David Scott Chairman Committee on Agriculture United States House of Representatives

The Honorable G.T. Thompson Ranking Member Committee on Agriculture United States House of Representatives

Dear Chairwomen Stabenow, Chairman Scott and Ranking Members Boozman and Thompson:

The Specialty Crop Farm Bill Alliance is a coalition of more than 200 organizations representing the entirety of the fruit, vegetable, tree nut, and horticulture industries in the United States. The Alliance is developing a comprehensive set of recommendations to Congress for the 2023 Farm Bill, which we anticipate transmitting to you this fall. We are writing to you today, however, to address an important issue in advance of those broader recommendations.

Proposals are being discussed that would expand the definition of specialty crop beyond its commonly understood meaning. There are few issues more impactful to our sector of the ag economy than what it means to *be* a specialty crop. That definition determines eligibility to participate in Farm Bill programs established by Congress exclusively for specialty crops. Accordingly, the Steering Committee of the Alliance is providing you with the enclosed policy statement announcing our position on the definition of specialty crops.

We look forward to working with you as you develop the 2023 Farm Bill. Please do let us know if you have any questions or would like more information on the Alliance's position on this issue.

Sincerely,

Kam Quarles

Co-Chair, Specialty Crop Farm Bill Alliance CEO, National Potato Council

Mike Joyner

Co-Chair, Specialty Crop Farm Bill Alliance President, Florida Fruit & Vegetable Association

Dave Puglia

Co-Chair, Specialty Crop Farm Bill Alliance President & CEO, Western Growers

Robert L Guenther

Secretariat, Specialty Crop Farm Bill Alliance Chief Public Policy Officer, International Fresh Produce Association